Find answers, ask questions, and connect with others in our UK cycling & mountain bike forum.

• new tyres for trek 4500-2009 model

Doogs updated 11 years, 10 months ago 8 Members · 31 Posts
    This page may contain affiliate links which means that Cycling Addicts earns from qualifying purchases. See our full disclosure. This page may contain affiliate links.
  • Doogs

8 February 2009 at 6:04 pm

Hi folks..

sorry if this question has been asked before..

I am still a MTB noob of sorts, i normally ride the red and black routes at Kirroughtree 7 stanes..

I am thinking of upgrading my trek’s factory fitted skinny tyres (26 x 2.1) for a pair of Bontrager Big Earls 26 x 2.8, I need to know if these will sit safely and snugly on the factory fitted rims..

Wheels-

Shimano M475 disc hubs; Bontrager Camino, 32-hole rims w/eyelets, machined sidewalls

Tyres

Bontrager Jones ACX, 26×2.1″; 27 tpi

I appreciate any info that any of you good folks can provide me with..

T.I.A

• Gunner

8 February 2009 at 6:32 pm

I think the first question you may need to consider is whether the 2.8 will fit snugly into your frame/fork clearances.

What model Trek are you riding, and what is the clearance like at the moment with your 2.1’s, especially near your bottom bracket/chainstay joint, and what about when your tyres pick up mud ❓

Oops, sorry, didn’t see you had put the model in the thread title. 😳 😳

• mr-marty-martin

8 February 2009 at 6:36 pm

yeh it sounds abit unrealistic of a option tbh 😕

• Doogs

8 February 2009 at 6:46 pm

and what is the clearance like at the moment with your 2.1’s, especially near your bottom bracket/chainstay joint, and what about when your tyres pick up mud ❓

good point… I did say i was a noob… i have measured the clearance from the outside edge of the rear tyre to the inside edge of the bottom bracket/chainstay joint and the clearance is 13mm on either side.